History of Myrgan Wood

Download our newsletter

In A.S. 13, Geofry of Cyrtenham made his way onto the prairie steppes and founded the Shire of Myrgan Wood (old English for merry woods) with local assistance from Kalin d'Autremont and Corin of Lincoln. Originally the shire was part of the Middle Kingdom as the Barony of Castle Rouge is a mere nine hours journey to the east, while the closest branch to the west was the Barony of Lion's Gate in the Principality of An Tir, Kingdom of the West, was 21 hours travel.

After swift growth, the shire became a barony in A.S. 17 with Lord Geofry created Founding Baron by Andrew of Seldomrest, King of the Midrealm. As the furthermost bastion of the Kingdom, the Barony was granted the right to fly the Middle Kingdom Royal Standard without the Crown's presence - a great and single honour. Unfortunately the Barony suffered an emigration large enough to require a change in status from Barony back to shire in A.S. 21.

There were many changes to the steppes surrounding Myrgan Wood in these years. An Tir became a kingdom, Montengarde, Borealis, Bitter End, and Valley Wold were established, with Montengarde and Borealis rising to Baronies. Myrgan Wood's ties to the west swelled. Eventually the members of the shire voiced their desire to join the Kingdom of An Tir. Treaties were signed and Myrgan Wood was not only welcomed, but granted the singular honour to fly the An Tirian Royal Standard as they had that of the Middle Kingdom in A.S. 22 by King Eric and Queen Meagan. The An Tir banner in baronial regalia was made by Duchess Hlutwige Wolfkiller.

Under the able guidance of our Royal Patron, Duke Tjorkill Kanne, Myrgan Wood began again to grow and thrive. In A.S. 28 Rorik Gunnarson and Berengaria, King and Queen of An Tir restored Myrgan Wood to Baronial status with Gareth Bydaweyr and Rowena the Rebellious as Founding Baron and Baroness. Since that time we have seen Lord Karl Alexander von Ross with Her Ladyship Eve de Lacy, Sir Taras of Kieve with Lady Bianca Issabella Verdi, and Don Raoul Achille Delaroche with Her Excellency Roxanne Delaroche serve the Barony as Baron and Baroness. Viscount Gunther Roriksson has also served as Castellan.

In A.S. 39 Lord Ferghail MacIngill and Viscountess Catriona McManus were invested as Baron and Baroness of Myrgan Wood as we celebrated our Twenty-Fifth Anniversary and recounted the wondrous thing accomplished by the barony.

We were honoured to host the creation of the Principality of Avacal with the Investiture of Rorik and Gwendolyn in A.S. 30.

We are proud to include in our Barony, seventeen royal peers of Avacal spanning twelve reigns, either as residents, Sergeantry or as Blood of the Wood including: Duke Rorik Gunnarsson; Sir Vik Vikingsson (five times Prince); Viscountess Ceridwyn of Abbergavenny; Sir Albrecht von Rugen (twice Prince); Sir Gunther Roriksson (twice Prince); Viscountess Tatiana de Verona; Viscountess Catriona McManus (twice Princess); Sir Ivar the Black; Viscountess Asney Grimolfrsdottir and Viscountess Gemma Meena of Cur Elmo's Keep.

At Tenth Anniversary, the first in An Tir, Myrgan Wood became the first group to be awarded the Forget-me-not from Queen Hlutwige.

We have been honoured to successfully host two Kingdom level events. Prairie Alpine Crown in A.S. 32 has been the largest event to date at 400 people. This year we have been infused with an enthusiasm for heraldry after hosting the Kingdom Heraldic Symposium.

It has been our pleasure and honour to sponsor the incipient shire of Rhuddglynn located in the southwestern reaches of Avacal. The members of that community have been admitted into the Order of the Blood of the Wood in thanks for their support and efforts for this Barony.

We are also very pleased to now belong to the newly formed Kingdom of Avacal!

Past Baron and Baronesses

  • Fjall Lj├│tsson & Isabelle Buckells11th October 2014 - 6th October 2018
  • Grimolfr Griotgardsson & Dezzrianne Draganova doch'18th Oct 2008 - 11th October 2014
  • Dietrich von Kleeve & Helene Charesse26th Nov 2005 - 18th Oct 2008
  • Ferghail MacIngill & Catriona McManus9th Oct 2004 - 26th Nov 2005
  • Raoul & Roxanne Delaroche7th Oct 2000 - 9th Oct 2004
  • Taras of Kiev & Bianca Isabella Verdi22nd Aug 1998 - 26th Feb 2000
  • Karl Alexander von Ross   Eve de Lacy11th Oct 1997 - 22nd Aug 1998
  • Gareth Bydaweyr   Roweyna the Rebellious15th Oct 1994 - 11th Oct 1997
  • Geofry of Cyrtenham31th Jul 1982 - 9th May 1987